When Did You Begin to Write

Posted on

I was just reading the blog of a friend who was discussing when she first began writing. As with many writers it was in grade school. One of my favorite topics was writing about dogs mushing through the snow in the Artic . I knew nothing about that topic but my imagination flowed. Then someone suggested writers should write about what they know.  Then when I was in the seventh grade I submitted one of my stories to a children’s page in the Country Gentlemen magazine and would you believe I received a letter saying I had earned a first prize certificate. I can’t even remember what I wrote about. But that inspired me to continue.  Through the years I have had a lot of fun writing for different publications such as Day Publications and Meat Processing,  Highlights for Children and others.  Many of those articles were based  on interviews, so I have many people in person or via phone that shared many interesting stories.  Now I’ve begun writing again just for myself.  What a joy!

Just as with reading, time passes very  fast.

Leave a Reply

