Follow the Leader

Posted on

New phrases are always sliding into my vocabulary, it seems. For instance, a friend asked me “who are the influencers you follow?” Just to clarify, in social media terms, that means who are the people I  know or admire enough to follow  what they know, say or do. In short, do I agree with their opinion or viewpoint? On all topics or just a few?

Coincidentally, I received the current copy of Time that lists the 100 most influential people in the world.  Thumbing through it I found six people I had heard of before, none in my field. Suddenly this became a big question to me. Who may influence what I say or like or do? 

When I was back in high school influencers were the teachers and community leaders I looked up to and respected. My world has expanded.       

Another social media phrase people  use is “Follow.” On Facebook I find people who have 23 followers, another 800 and if you are a celebrity of some kind,  possibly 40, 000 or more.  That reminds me of an old game called Follow the Leader and we would skip around in a circle sometimes doing Simon Says routines together of raising an arm or thumbing your nose. Then there’s the fairy tale  called “The Pied Piper.” (And, of course, the example of Sheep following a leader from the field into the barnyard.)

Following is a one-sided affair according to Google. A one-sided relationship means you see their post but they often don’t see your response. Or you just send back a sign/symbol of acknowledgement because the reply is restricted to using only so many words. The connotation then is that I am following along generally without thinking. Yes, just going along not thinking.

That brings me to a final maddening phrase that I hear hundreds of times and used in every news program.  “I think.”   When I or other people say that phrase it generally means we don’t exactly know for a fact. Maybe we’re just guessing from strong research or indications or maybe we just hope. I have never heard a person on a news panel say “I reflect.”  “I ponder.” “I contemplate.” “My opinion is thus  and so based on what I have heard, read or pulled together.” Sometimes I have heard someone say “based on facts I have seen, etc.“

So today, the only real fact I know is that  I went outside a minute ago,  looked up into the clouded sky and truthfully said “it’s raining.”  Does that make sense?  Or am I just crazy?

In writing my book Destiny’s Daughter, my heroine Dr. Mary Edwards Walker,  urged women to think for themselves.  I’ts difficult but I think I might try it.                 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.